團隊成員

每一件事也是由一個故事開始。 但是,沒有一隊充滿熱誠的團圓,把一些清談便話付諸實行。 便不會有值得講述並且傳播的故事。

HILLIAN SIU
HILLIAN SIU

為什麼突然間 Hillian 一個似乎從未對海洋做過多少事情,突然開始著手這個大型拯救海洋的行動。我不是一個經常做善事的人。我亦不是什麼富豪能夠在物質上給予什麼東西。我甚至家裡電視機也沒有,我想給父母一個異國旅遊也得做一個徹底的計算。我也不是一個時間慷慨的人。但是什麼驅使我需要作出一個場瘋狂的旅程去拯救海洋呢?它可能聽起來不是最吸引人的,但說真話是因為內疚而致。

 

在過去10年中,越來越多的人週末去海灘清理。一方面,覺得那些在海面上飄浮的垃圾很討厭,另一方面,不能自拔地豁出時間去當海灘清潔。我曾經在台灣的一個沿海海灘俱樂部工作和生活。每天早上,我帶著我所有的風箏裝備走到海灘,會碰到一位來自南非的鄰居,他會帶著一袋垃圾走上來。我一直很佩服他的熱心,但與此同時,我也認為,哦......你讓我看起來很糟糕。在這4年中,我住在海邊。我從來沒有做過一次自願去海邊撿垃圾。一方面,我只想出海玩風箏。我本人對於海邊撿垃圾的行動半猜半疑, 認為這些動作會有什麼成效,既黑工又無聊。但我一直告訴自己有一天我會為此做些什麼。一些比較有趣,更實用的東西。

 

所以這天終於來了。發起這個項目“ 風箏衝浪,清潔海洋” 可說是比起每週清潔海灘更黑工,更加刻苦。很多人會問,你用這些時間,金錢和精神設法把事情實行。 實際上能產生多大的影響?在建立這個項目的途中,我學懂了不是說要爭論那個解決方才是最有效方的。有時,只是在於選擇一種你可取的媒介,全心全意地去做。因為每一分力,也就是建立了我們這個地球的力量。

創辦人

蕭焱

Owen Jellison.jpeg
OWEN JELLISON 

我一生都在海洋和水道周圍,總是想知道為什麼作為人類我們把它當作垃圾桶對待?我一直想採取更主動的方法來解決“為什麼?”的情況,但只是從來沒有時間和承諾排隊,直到最近。 作為一名自 1983 年以來的風帆衝浪者和自 2012 年以來的風箏衝浪者,為了像我們一樣享受水,是時候回饋和保護這一寶貴的資源了,我很榮幸希爾問我是否有興趣加入,並且我很高興加入。

綠色環保顧問

歐文傑里森 
NEIL GODBOLD

我從事上運動行業,風箏衝浪培訓師和活動組織多年。海洋和河流一直我生命上很重要的一部份。不管是為生計或純粹玩樂。看到多年來我們如何把這些美麗的環境,變成我們的全球垃圾堆是非常心痛的。

 

一開始,當你外出或划船時,你會看到它,心想,這不是很好,但當訓練課程展開時, 很快就會忘記它。有時你會想,這很糟糕,應該做些事情,但是為了生計,你繼續工作,事情便不了了之。

 

多年來我一直有意識到這一點,但從來沒有真正想過要做什麼事情,大多是向朋友抱怨一下,並指出誰造成這一切等等。或是覺得這是一個很大的問題,我無法解決這個問題 - 沒有真正思考怎樣能夠參與解決的方針。

 

然後有一位認識了很久的風箏衝浪同伴,Hillian Siu 找我一起幫忙計劃她利用風箏衝浪從香港到澳門的海洋環保運動,以提高我們對當地水域海洋塑料問題的認識。但Hillian 的想法比這更進一步,她想利用這個成功了的例子作為基礎,再計劃邀請其他風箏衝浪的同伴利用他們的超能力一同參與籌集資金的清潔海洋運動,一個可持續, 深遠且實際的計劃方案!

 

 

我真的很期待看到這個運動成長,並與世界各地的許多人一同風箏衝浪,並且能開始承擔一些這個嚴重塑料垃圾問題。

風箏衝浪及推行顧問

NEIL GODBOLD
尼爾·戈德伯德
BRITTANY TSE

即將推出...

綠色環保顧問

布列塔尼謝
DOUG WOODRING

我在加利福尼亞長大,參加了 NCAA 最高級別的游泳和水球比賽,然後參與了帆板運動,當我搬到亞洲時,我對戶外和海洋的欣賞方式變得更加明顯。 當我第一次搬到該地區時,主要的情感訴求是亞洲的污染差異,主要是空氣不好。 水質在某些地方是一個問題,但亞洲有許多未受污染的美麗地方,您可以在那裡潛水並逃離地球過度擴張的景象。  

 

我被這項事業所吸引,因為我於 1998 年開始在亞洲放風箏,使用著名的 2 線風箏,並繼續以多種方式使用水,主要是開放水域游泳,我們組織的大型活動,以及有競爭力的支腿獨木舟比賽.這種接觸和潛水讓我在 10 多年前開始進入這個領域,因為我不明白為什麼沒有太多的全球公眾討論或對這個話題的認識。 從那以後,我們成為該主題的國際創意領導者,與聯合國環境署、世界銀行和克林頓全球倡議合作,推出有助於讓人們參與的創業解決方案、計劃和提高認識活動,並參與其中變革的機會。 這些程序之一是我們的 全球警報應用程序 用英語和西班牙語,允許人們報告世界上任何水道或海岸線的垃圾熱點。   

 

我們還努力讓體育界參與到環境討論中來,因為運動員是利用土地和水域進行訓練和比賽的人,而且往往更清楚我們未能保護的陷阱。 體育運動和我們的海洋大使(包括一些風箏)可以幫助縮小與那些可能看不到環境變化發生在他們眼皮底下的人之間的差距,並且可以激勵其他人效仿。如果沒有運動和對戶外活動的欣賞,我就不會在海洋恢復聯盟做我現在做的事情。我們喜歡支持新的好活動,當它們出現可以捕捉新社區的想像力和精神時,比如風箏,這個活動就是其中之一。 

綠色環保顧問

道格·伍德林
Ken Sheffield.jpeg
KEN SHEFFIELD 

從孩提時代起,我就對海灘式的生活方式著迷。我從小就夢想住在靠近大海的地方,在佐治亞州高中畢業後,我開始冒險前往夏威夷大學。在學習中結交一些朋友, 我喜歡去海灘並學習如何進行趴板衝浪和身體衝浪。我最終也成為了一名救生員,並教授游泳和水上安全。我的學習把我帶到了亞洲,在那裡旅行、生活和工作了五年。我注意到有些地方沒有夏威夷聞名的清潔水,並想知道如何才能變得更好。在會見歐文傑里森並在他的建議下,希爾和我 討論了與 For a Cleaner Ocean 團隊的聯繫,以幫助共同使世界海洋更清潔。

綠色環保顧問

肯·謝菲爾德

TEAM

Every movement starts with a story. But without a dedicated, passionate team working relentlessly to turn a coffee conversation into action, there won't be any story worth telling and ultimately spreading. 

HILLIAN SIU
HILLIAN SIU

Why all of a sudden Hill who never seems to do much about the oceans has gone on a quixotic quest to save the oceans? I’m not a very charitable person. I don’t have a whole lot to give in the first place, in terms of possessions anyway. I hardly make ends meet every month and I have to give it a second thought and do a thorough calculation if I want to buy my parents a trip to somewhere exotic. I'm also not the most generous person with my time either. But what drove me to go on this crazy ride in the name of saving oceans? It might not sound the most attractive thing but it is really about guilt. 

Over the course of the past 10 years, seeing the increasing amount of people going to do beach cleanups every weekend, I also got increasingly agitated. On one hand, I was annoyed by the trash lying about, and on the other, I just can’t bring myself to do beach cleaning. In fact, where I used to work and live on a coastal beach club in Taiwan, every morning, I’d walk down to the beach with all my kite gear and would walk past my South African neighbour who would walk up with a bag of trash. I always thought he is so great but at the same time, I also thought that oh...you just made me look so bad. During the 4 years, I lived right there by the beach. I have never once just voluntarily gone down to my beach to pick up trash. Part of me would rather go kiting. Another part of me just doesn't believe the act is making any difference or is effective. It is so laborious and boring. But I keep telling myself that one day I’ll do something about it. Something fun and practical in my view. ​

So that one day has finally come. This project, putting ‘Kitesurf for a Cleaner Ocean' together is by no means easier than doing a weekly beach cleanup. And many people would ask how much impact you’re actually making or going to make with all these efforts and money? I came to realize that it is not about debating whether it is the most effective way to solve the problems. Sometimes it is simply about choosing a medium that you believe in, run with it and do it wholeheartedly. Because every little bit helps.

FOUNDER

HILLIAN SIU

Owen Jellison.jpeg
OWEN JELLISON 

I've been around the ocean and waterways all my life & always wondered why as humans we treated it like a garbage can? I've always wanted to take a more proactive approach to address the "why?" of the situation, but just never had the time and commitment line up, until recently. As a windsurfer since 1983 and then kiteboarder since 2012, to enjoy the water as much as we do, it's time to give back and protect this precious resource, and I'm just honoured that Hill asked if I would be interested to join, and I'm pleased to be on board.

BOARD MEMBER & DEVELOPMENT CONSULTANT

OWEN JELLISON 
NEIL GODBOLD

I have been in the sports and watersports industry pretty much all my life in one way or another, as a competitor, trainer, event’s organiser and through the media. The seas, oceans and rivers have played a big part in both my work and recreational life, so it is massively sad to see over the years how we have turned these beautiful environments into our global rubbish tips. 

 

At first, you see it when you are out kiting or paddling and think, that’s not great, but soon forget about it as your training session unfolds and stories of great ‘daring do’ are told back on the beach. Sometimes you think, this is bad, something should be done about it, but you carry on working as you have a competition to run. Then sometimes you find yourself stopping your filming as you realise the stunning backdrop you are interviewing in, is ruined by plastic trash blowing around peoples feet. 

 

I have been half-conscious of this for years, but never really thinking to do much about it, at least not directly, easier just to complain to friends and ‘point the finger’ at who is causing it all. It’s such a big problem, there is nothing I can do to fix it - I think I have been part of that group of people who wants to do something, but never really knows how to or could find the time to be involved. 

 

Then a long-time friend and kiter, Hillian Siu asked me to help out with a crazy idea she had to kitesurf from Hong Kong to Macau to raise awareness of the ocean plastic problem in our local waters. But Hill’s idea went further than this, she also wanted to do something to try to address the problem and use kitesurfing as the vehicle to do it. Impressively Hill achieved the Hong Kong to Macau crossing, even with all its difficulties of crossing some of the world’s busiest shipping lanes and having to deal with three different countries borders and waters – launching Kitesurf for a Cleaner Ocean! 

 

The goal is now to build on this success and use our kitesurfing passion to help the oceans we kite in to recover. I love the notion that kitesurfers are being asked to kite, so nothing outside of the zone, the winds up and you will be out there anyway. Just once in a while your session has an extra meaning and raises some funds to help to take on the challenge of cleaning up our mess. 

I for one am really looking forward to seeing the movement grow, getting in some great kiting and having fun with a lot of people around the world, as we support something that will start to take on the plastic trash problem.

KITESURF & MEDIA CONSULTANT 

NEIL GODBOLD
NEIL GODBOLD
BRITTANY TSE

Coming Soon...

SUSTAINABILITY CONSULTANT

BRITTANY TSE
DOUG WOODRING

Having grown up in California competing at the highest levels of NCAA swimming and water polo, and then involved with windsurfing, I appreciated the outdoors and ocean in a way which became more apparent in when I moved to Asia.  The main call to emotion was the difference in pollution which Asia had, mainly in terms of bad air, when I first moved to the region.  Water quality was an issue in some places, but Asia has plenty of unspoiled beautiful locations where you could dive and escape the scenes of an overstretched planet. 

 

I am attracted to this cause as I started kiting in Asia in 1998, with the famed 2-line kites, and continue to use the water in many ways, mainly with open water swimming, and large events we organize, and competitive outrigger canoe racing. This exposure, along with diving, was got me started in this space over 10 years ago, as I could not understand why there was not much of a global public discussion or awareness on the topic. We have since become a vocal, international creative leader on the topic, working with United Nations Environment, the World Bank and the Clinton Global Initiative to bring about entrepreneurial solutions, programs and awareness-raising activities which help to get people engaged, and be part of the opportunities for change. One of these such programs is our Global Alert app, in English and Spanish, which allows people to report trash hotspots anywhere in the world’s waterways or coastlines.   

 

We also work to bring the sports community into the environmental discussion, as athletes are the ones who use land and waters for training and competing, and are often more aware of the pitfalls of our failure to protect. Sports and our Ocean Ambassadors, which include a few kiters, can help to bridge the gap with those who might not see the environmental changes happening under their noses, and who can inspire others to follow. Without sports, and the appreciation for the outdoors, I would not be doing what I am with Ocean Recovery Alliance. We like to support new good events when they come along that can capture the imagination and spirit of a new community, like kiting, and this event is one of them. 

ENVIRONMENTAL PARTNER 

DOUG WOODRING
Ken Sheffield.jpeg
KEN SHEFFIELD 

I’ve been enthralled with the beachy lifestyle from when I was a kid. Growing up I dreamed of living close to the ocean and after high school in Georgia, I headed out on an adventure to go to the University of Hawaii. Making some friends while studying, I enjoyed going to the beach and learning how to bodyboard and bodysurf. I also became a lifeguard eventually and taught swimming and water safety. My studies took me to Asia where traveled, lived, and worked for five years. I noticed that some places did not have the clean water Hawaii is known for and wondered how that might be changed for the better. After meeting Owen Jellison and at his suggestion, Hill and I discussed linking up with the For a Cleaner Ocean team to help make the world’s oceans cleaner together.

BOARD MEMBER & OUTREACH CONSULTANT

KEN SHEFFIELD